TransferWise is taking a long time to reach KBank

Some money was sent to me via TransferWise from America last Thursday (in America). Monday was a USA federal holiday so obviously that delayed it a bit. I finally received the TransferWise notification email Tuesday morning and it said it should be in my bank on the 6th (yesterday). It never came, so this morning my girlfriend called Kasikorn Bank. They looked at the account and said they don't see any money sent. Last time I received money it came soon after the TransferWise email was received. 

Does it sound like there's a problem with this transfer? Or is this normal? If it's normal, when can I except the money to reach KBank?

• Replies 127
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This has nothing to do with TransferWise or USA banks, but I have been transferring cash every month for the last 10 years from Australia by direct bank to bank internet transfers, for a very long time the cash would be in my account in under 10 mins, the longest it ever took was a few hours and only because the amount was over $10,000 which made it a reportable transaction, BUT, over the last 3 months it has blown out to 24 hours or more.

The first time it happened I went down to the bank (SCB) and asked why it hadn't gone in, the lady there rang Bangkok and was told that it had never arrived, by the time I got home, around 5-10 mins it had suddenly appeared in my account, so someone was telling porky pies.

What is possibly happening is the Thai banks are now doing what happens with transfers between Australian banks which takes 3 days, each of the banks involved uses your cash to invest in the overnight money markets, my ex worked for the Commonwealth Bank in Oz and she told me years ago that there were cheques in the millions passing through her department every day heading off to the money markets and it would return the next morning.