Transcripts

Jessy

What is the situation with regards to transcripts?? Are transcripts needed for both a degree and a TEFL certificate??

I did my degree over ten years ago and I have only managed to get transcripts for the first year. It was never common policy for British universities to issue transcripts, certainly not more than ten years ago.

What about for TEFL certs?? Advice and experience on this matter appreciated.

I understand that the American and British meanings for transcripts are slightly different. In America, the transcript is a record of courses taken, grades earned, and degrees obtained (if any). The transcript is actually (in terms of paperwork) more important than the degree certificate itself in proving that you have a degree and explaining what coursework you have done- the degree certificate is mainly important for hanging up on your wall. Transcripts must be sealed by the university to be fully official, and usually have a copy-protection pattern on them so that photocopies can not be mistaken for the "originals." You can have as many original transcripts as you pay for; they are hard copy of your records at the university, not the degree itself. I believe that in Britain they only offer you one transcript and it counts, in its way, as a certificate?

Until recently in Thailand, the degree certificate was more important (for some reason) but various pressures (including the problem of fake degree certs.) have increased the importance of the transcript. In recent days, if you were going the way of full legal paperwork, this transcript of coursework would be required as well as the actual degree certificate (diploma).