6 Year waiver is up. What can I do?

Jimjim1968

I have 18 months left before my waiver is up. Then, if I want to teach in a school, I would have to do a course (2 years, 250,000B +)

I have a wife and child (Thai) and nearly 50.

I'm trying to weigh up my options;

1. Do the course.

2. Teach in a language center or online.

3. Move to another country.

It's a really tough situation to be in. I've been teaching here for 15+ years.

Grateful for any pointers.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What do your savings look like ? You are near 50, does that mean you have the means to retire at 50 ? 

If not, then plan on how long you need to work to meet that goal. Many guys here , especially ones that came here at a younger age and stayed, have nothing in the way of a plan or any savings. Licensing issues aside nobody can work forever....think seriously about that plan.

It may mean that you need to move back to your home country and get a job to build some savings for retirement first. If you think that teaching will allow you to save enough for retirement  by age 60, then you have 2 choices...get your cert or teach at a language school...but you must save money until it hurts. If you think you cannot do that...there is no point at staying here and teaching at all..and you need a better path.

24 minutes ago, aidenai said:

1 year of study and costs about 60,000 THB.

That is good news. I was quoted from Assumption University of Thailand.

Do you have details for this?

I do have savings and my wife is a government teacher. The option does exist that she opens a language center and I work for her, as some friends have done. It's far from a lost cause. And I still have 18 months to prepare.

Also these days online teaching is paying more than a lot of school salaries.