"Bangkok Christian Hospital" experience.

dddave

I have fairly advanced Osteo-Arthritis in both my knee's and just spent all of April in my home city of Boston preparing the way for knee replacement surgery.  As a veteran, I get free health care which includes knee replacement.  The chief orthopedic physician agreed that I need new knees but the wheels of the VA turn slowly and it won't be until sometime this summer before I can be slotted in.  He did suggest Cortisone injections in both knees for pain reduction but again, the slow wheels precluded getting an appointment for such injections before my pre-determined departure date.

30 hours seated in a cramped airline seat did my knees no good and they have been much more painful and stiff since arriving back in Bangkok last week.  I had researched Cortisone shots in Bangkok in the past but came up empty.  I decided to try again. 

I have always heard (and read here on this forum) positive things about Bangkok Christian Hospital so I decided to start there.  I emailed their Patient Management Dept. and they responded that I could see an Orthopedic Dr. on a walk-in basis any day. (I failed to clarify if that includes Sat. & Sun.)

I showed-up today (Monday) at 9AM and was immediately ushered to the Registration Desk where as a first time patient, I had to fill out a few short forms.  They copied my passport, (necessary) insisted I sit in a wheelchair and rolled me up to the 2nd floor screening area where my BP/temp. was taken and a nurse fluent in English asked the usual round of questions.  I had thought to bring along a CD of my X-Rays and Radiologist reports so they did not insist on doing their own X-Rays as many local hospitals try to do.