Good Thai Food In Cm

Johpa

I see plenty of postings regarding eating foreign foods on CM but I am curious where you go out for a dinner with friends for decent traditional Thai food today?

Now some of you here know me a bit and some see me as a newbie here and in today's CM I feel like a newbie although I did spend most of the 1980s and into the early 1990s in the region. But I have been very disappointed by the Thai food to be found in the big city during my visits over the past several years.

Once upon a time you could find great affordable Thai eateries, like Wiralaappaet along the north moat, that were always packed with Thais. And even Anusorn Market, at one time, and I know this is difficult to believe was packed with local Thai families and had great, what I call, Thai fast food.

But when we venture into the big city these days, usually in order to keep the kids happy with a movie or a night in a hotel with air-con and a swimming pool, the Thai food simply sucks wherever we go.

I know I can find good Thai food outside the city but what about in the big city. My Thai Achaan friends from CMU always liked to go to the Thaa Naam. Is that still around?

And what about Khon Muang dishes? Are there any places where you can get fresh laap dip and wash it down with Mae Khong while listening to luuk tung music?

> Once upon a time you could find great affordable Thai eateries, like

> Wiralaappaet along the north moat, that were always packed with

> Thais. And even Anusorn Market, at one time, and I know this is

> difficult to believe was packed with local Thai families and had

> great, what I call, Thai fast food.

Well, I think the Laap Ped place is still there. As is Anusarn of course, but it is strictly tourists-only now, very much including Thai tourists of course. Things change, always in motion eating is. Other old icons that went seriously down the drain would include Aroon Rai and probably many others.