Non-B Thai visa for teacher with criminal record?

I have secured a job with an international school in Thailand.

I need to secure my Non-B Thai visa here in the UK before hopefully leaving for Thailand in August. Both myself and the school are worried because I have a criminal conviction from 2010 (Driving a motor vehicle with excess alcohol). I was young & stupid, not imprisoned, ban plus small fine.

I am an experienced teacher and have always disclosed the conviction via DBS with no issue. I have read conflicting information on Thai embassy websites including London. For example, required non immigrant type B (Teacher):

'A photo coy of certification of bachelor's degree or equivalent a photo copy of a Criminal record clearance certificate in the United Kingdom or Ireland (issued by the national police department not older than 6 months)'

My question is am I likely to be denied my visa due to this conviction? Are there black & white rules or does the granting of visas rely on the discretion of the particular official you deal with on the day?

I intend to travel to attempt to secure the visa as soon as possible as the situation is understandably quite stressful. Thanks

I am hoping this will be the case although there seems no way of knowing. 

I am planning to attend the embassy in person, smartly dressed and with all relevant documentation. Lead with the letters of intent from my Thai employer and only present the DBS if requested to do so. Sound like a good approach?

52 minutes ago, Hardgraf said:

I am hoping this will be the case although there seems no way of knowing. 

I am planning to attend the embassy in person, smartly dressed and with all relevant documentation. Lead with the letters of intent from my Thai employer and only present the DBS if requested to do so. Sound like a good approach?

I have a mate who lives here 

He was drunk around 2010 and he was charged with assault on the police