Denied entry at Don Meung even with a valid 60 day Tourist Visa

I was denied entry at Don Meung even though I just recently received a new 60 day Tourist Visa in Vientiane Laos. They immigration officer said I've been using too many Visa Exempt and Tourist Visas to stay in Thailand. I've been using them since November 2017, but usually Visa Exempt on Arrival and only 1 60-day Tourist Visa before.

They took me to some side desk and told me I had to book a flight out of Thailand and they will give me a 30 day stamp. I booked a ticket to Laos at the desk and the lady said I will have to leave in 30 days. She gave me a stamp and I took a look and the stamp was a 60 day stamp and let me into the country.

Now I'm wondering...do I really need to leave at the 30 day mark, or is that 60 day stamp on my passport valid and I can stay here for the entire 60 day duration of the stamp and visa? I'm not sure if anyone else here has encountered this problem. I'm a Canadian citizen if it matters at all.

• Like 2

20 minutes ago, ubonjoe said:

If your tourist visa was still valid for entry you got the correct stamp. Not need to leave the country until the 60 days ends or the 30 day extension of it.

Thank you for the reply. If I were to stay the 60 days and I go to get a 30 day extension will they see anything on their system that will get me into trouble?  I'm just afraid they might have put something on "the system" of what happened today. 

Was what happened today just because I was unlucky? My previous stays were July&Aug17 on Visa exempt, Nov&Dec on Visa exempt, Jan&Feb on exempt, Mar&Apr on tourist visa, then May&June on Visa exempt. The lady said I stayed here too long without a proper work or education visa and that in the future I will be denied entry doing any tourist or visa exempts. If I decide to get a future Tourist Visa in Laos and its granted successfully, should I cross over on a land border instead of flying in to Don Meung to avoid this issue?