Stay in Myanmar on back-to-back tourist e-visas?

simon43

I've been teaching in Myanmar for several years, and my school employer is the sponsor of my multi-entry, one-year business visa.

At the end of this month, my teaching job comes to an end because I have resigned so that I can devote more time/effort to my educational charity work for Burmese students.

Without a new employer to sponsor a business visa, it is difficult for me to legally live in Myanmar, (there being no 'retirement' visa option, and marriage to a Burmese gal for the social visa is not top of my preferred options!).

My plan was to relocate to either Mae Sot or Ranong, and then travel regularly into Myanmar to continue my charity efforts and to post off boxes of school text-books from the bus station in Myanmar, (the best way to send boxes of books to distant schools).

It would be much more effective if I could continue to live in Myanmar full-time.  The only option that I can see is to get a tourist visa and then do back-to-back visa runs into Thailand, (where I have a Thailand elite visa, so multiple visits to Thailand are not a problem).

Does anyone know if back-to-back visa runs are 'tolerated' by the Myanmar authorities?

Is there any other viable option for me to reside in Myanmar if I am not working for a local employer? (I am willing to do some part-time voluntary teaching for a school if that can secure me their support documents to get a business visa).

u spent 500,000 on an elite visa and you dont even live here??The mind boggles

AFAIK  there is NO limit on the number if tourist visas u can get

NOTE; next year u might be able to save the $50