New International Teacher questions.

Amberd

Hi All,

I am an Australian teacher with 5 years experience teaching here in Australia and a further 5 years experience as an Education Support Officer - working with students who have behaviour issues, intellectual and physical disabilities. I am looking at moving to Thailand next year to hopefully teach in an International School. 

My question is what are the best schools (in Bangkok) to apply to (including pay rates, perks etc)? I would need tuition for my son who will be 16 at the time of moving. 

Also, what would I need to apply? Here we need to address certain selection criteria (usually 5 at about one page each) and a resume with referees included. 

Is it best to sign up to Search Associates or ISS in order to be offered a position? Or, is it easy to apply directly?

I look forward to your responses.

Thanks.

I have never taught at an international school myself, but do have some peripheral knowledge. International schools in Thailand are almost all affiliated with some school in the country of origin. Go online and make a list of international schools in Thailand, making particular note of those with an Australian affiliation. Most hiring is done at at job fairs in the country of origin. Only in the case of a death or sudden departure do you see advertising in Thailand.

I hope this gets you started.  For a better response, you will need to wait for someone with direct experience.

Amberd,

Join Search Associates, look at www.tes.co.uk teaching overseas section and the international school review website. They will  have a whole wealth of information for you to check out.

Make sure you apply from abroad to get an overseas package.

Any decent school will give 100 percent free tuition fees for your child, free medical, work permit, visa, bonus, shipping allowance and accommodation (or allowance for it). Contracts are generally two years. Salary should be over 100,00-baht a month depending on experience.