Should I Building a new house in Thailand

I have been visiting Thailand since 2009 and I have seen many changes. At age 66, I have decided to move early next year. 

My Thai gf (49yo) wants new house. 

I would appreciate pros and cons from anyone that finished construction within last 3 years.

Thanks for all Serious Replies 

My advice would be RENT.

If you buy/build whatever, it will never be yours. RENT you can move and try different areas, and if the relationship doesnt work you can walk away.

If you build a modest home in rural Thailand at 1.5-2 mil baht its dead money, money you will never see again. That same 1.5-2mil dependent on location could pay 20 yrs rent.

Visa situations and Thai Govt are far too unstable right now,  in my opinion to be making any long term commitment.

At 66 years I would just be renting,you may need liquidation

of your money incase of any health issues in the future,the

Thai G/f,won't like it,but be firm it's your life,if she leaves

you,at least you will know it was only money she was after.

If you are a multi Millionaire $ ,do it ,you can afford to loose

a few million THB, how long have you known this lady ?

regards Worgeordie

You asked for the pros and cons:

Pros:   she will be nice to you at least until the house is finished

Cons:   there are many......one is being conned  

( sorry if i am cynical.  you must research the heartbreak stories for yourself.  then, as

the thais say :  its up to you)

Visiting Thailand (even if over several years and same gf) is vastly different than living in Thailand with a "wife".  Just for that reason, you are being really naive to even think about building a house before you have lived here for 2-3 years and know what makes you happy and where for the long term.  But, to build a house because the gf wants one, is just crazy man.