Friendship in Thailand, reality versus expectations/hope

sidjameson

Before arriving in Thailand I'm sure we all had hopes, romantic, sexual, economic etc. Concerning same sex friendships, how has it panned out for you?

Being a newbie I have yet to find my place so still too early to tell. Wondering what other longer stayers have experienced.

I presume you mean forming friendships with, in my case other Thai males. As someone who has always struggled with the language coupled with the fact I live in the sticks so pretty much no speaks English it's not been that easy to become firm friends with many Thai men.
Also, when ever I attend local parties or social gatherings I always sit with my wife. This means sitting at a table occupied entirely by, with the exception of myself women. And then I spend the entire evening trying not too make eye contact with anyone incase someone gets the wrong idea!

Sent from my iPad using Thaivisa Connect

I arrived here over 20 years ago. And I thought at some stage I will live with Thais like one of them (ok, something like that).

I realized soon that will never happen.

We can chat together and do business together but we will never really be friends because our cultures and upbringing is just very different.

My good friends are all farangs and I think the reason is simply that we have a similar background, education, world view, etc.

I am friendly with many Thais and in many (by far not all) situations I have an idea how they think. But often that is very different from my thinking.

Summary for me is: We are just different, not one or the other better, just different.

With Thai girls and farang guys that's a different story...

3 hours ago, OneMoreFarang said:

I arrived here over 20 years ago. And I thought at some stage I will live with Thais like one of them (ok, something like that).