BANGKOK 24 January 2019 03:16
watgate

Air quality in chiang mai currently

I realize their already is a topic for smoke and pollution but decided to post here to try and get some immediate feedback concerning the current situation of smoke and pollution in chiang mai. I have been experiencing problems with my breathing this year in chiang mai and it started about 1 month ago. I have been coming here for the past 9 years and arrived this year in May. This is the first year where it has hit me hard and I finished off a course of antibiotics and other assorted meds about 1 month ago and I was feeling better. Now, again I am coughing and spewing up stuff from my lungs and most likely have developed another infection in my lungs. I am concerned about long term effects of the lack of air quality in chang mai and the detrimental effects in has on your lungs and breathing. A guy at the gym I go to who has only been in chiang mai for a few weeks has told me he is having problems with his breathing and can smell smoke. He also said other farangs in the hotel where he is staying are also experiencing problems with their breathing. I always thought the air started to deteriorate in January due to the burning and it gets progressively worse as the burning intensifies and the end of January and February and March are very bad due to all the burning that is going on in Thailand and SE Asia. My g/f is trying to tell me to go get some meds at a pharmacy and I will feel better in a few days but I am thinking that this is only masking the problem and not dealing with the root cause of my breathing problems. I guess if I had a car and lived in a place with a/c  and spent a lot of time in a/c  malls you could maybe escape some of the pollution but then you would be a captive to the pollution. I have always enjoyed coming to chiang mai to spend time with my g/f but am worried about ruining my health due to this incessant pollution in chiang mai. Is the air quality bad now in chiang mai?