absolute beginner

nikmar

Hi,

I have recently been approached by a young lady who works near me. She wants my help in picking up some basic English as she sees many westerners whilst working on her street stall. The problem is, she is at pre basic level. By that I mean, she has no English knowledge at all. She cant count beyond 10, doesnt know the alphabet and has no vocabulary. At all.

I would like to help but feel she really needs a Thai teacher, and Im not sure she can read Thai but I would be very grateful for any hints about ways I could help. Websites / apps I could point her towards or even where to begin. This isnt for money, just trying to help a fellow human being.

Any ideas? 

Teach her some basic sentences first, e.g. My name is ??????    Hello, what is your name ?   What is the time ? and then teach how to tell the time. Its the best way. Write down a load of basic simple sentences.  Buy The Lonely Planet Phrase Book, and go through it. Then she will always have a Thai translation. thats how I learnt Thai

Lots of bar-girls learn English by just trying it often enough. First they understand nothing, then very little, then a little more, and after a while many of them are pretty good in English.

I think it's a question of how much time you want to spend with her. And maybe maybe that is the reason she asked. Maybe she want's that you spend a lot of time with her - and maybe not only to learn English.

Not fluent in Thai but speak enough to make myself understood in most situations. 

Currently getting my son to write karaoke style language in Thai next to simple English sentences and were going from there. Also getting her to learn the alphabet on Youtube along with simple vocab. 

Have some ideas to go with here. ????

1 minute ago, OneMoreFarang said:

Lots of bar-girls learn English by just trying it often enough. First they understand nothing, then very little, then a little more, and after a while many of them are pretty good in English.