Entering Thailand

Hi, I’ve been in and out of Thailand for 1 year now, using TR visas, mostly back to back with a trip home back to the UK inbetween. My last visit back into Thailand I faced an issue where I was pulled aside ... the IO flicked through my passport and wasn’t happy. However, I showed them my income with bank statements, (lucky enough I’m an online university student whose parents pay for me whilst I’m studying) had the cash and an onward ticket..it was fine in the end but the IO told me I should return with an non imm Ed visa .. she made a note in my file that I’m a student & no more TR.  I will be returning after two months back home with an Ed visa.. I also have a new passport as it was needed which I know the system already has my info.. but I assume it looks better to the eye for the IO - to flick through a clean passport. I know nobody can predict whether I’ll face issues but I’d like to hear what people think in regards to me reentering. I’m flying to Krabi as it was a direct flight but I’m studying in Phuket. 

23 minutes ago, swineninety9 said:

You are studying online or at a university in Thailand?

I study at a UK university online, I had the papers with me to prove that’s what I do. I was advised the education visa just for the fact it’s a not a tourist I think because understandably .. I’m not a tourist. 

3 minutes ago, DrJack54 said:

I'm really interested in the experts replies. So you study with UK institution and because its online, your able to obtain ed-visa for Thailand??.

No you cannot get a non-ed visa for studying at a school outside of Thailand. It has to be a school registered with the education ministry here.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

2 minutes ago, DrJack54 said:

I'm really interested in the experts replies. So you study with UK institution and because its online, your able to obtain ed-visa for Thailand??. That would be a blast for the backpacker community