The week that was in Thailand news: Thai Proverb: When brain failure occurs, blame the brakes!

rooster59

The week that was in Thailand news: Thai Proverb: When brain failure occurs, blame the brakes!

unnamed.jpg

One can learn an awful lot about the culture of a country or people by examining the proverbs that they use. And Thailand is no different to anywhere in this regard. 

When I was a school teacher at one of Bangkok's international schools I wanted to teach Thai proverbs to my young students - the aim was to show them some inconsistencies and some similarities. Some of the proverbs would show how Thais and foreigners think alike, some would show how they don't. Most but not all would show the different language used to convey meanings and intentions. 

Some of the easy to grasp favorites among the pupils were "nee seua pa jorakhee" (flee a tiger and meet a crocodile) that equates to 'out of the frying pan into the fire' , "khaw meuang khon ta liw tong liw ta taam" (when going to the land of people who wink you should wink too) meaning 'When in Rome...' and "ow maphraw pay khai suan" (taking coconuts to sell in the orchard) that correlates to "taking coals to Newcastle".

The children learned both Thai and English words in the proverb topic as I improved my own handle on what can be an important part of language learning for use in adult conversation. Of course I was obliged as a teacher of children to avoid some of the racier proverbs that I had accumulated in my own Thai language armory. Such as "khao mai plaa man" (fresh rice and tasty fish) used to indicate the excitement of being a newlywed. Or the entirely inappropriate for kids (but vital for adults!) "wua gae gin yaa orn" (old cows like to eat young grass).

If you've never heard of it you can work that one out for homework.