What sort of a person hands over their passport to a motorcycle hire company

As a hotel manager I'm seeing a never ending stream of, candidly speaking, clowns that handed over their passports to hire a motorbike. They then come to my hotel expecting to check in. The answer is no, all of my staff will say no, and if you demand to see the manager, I will also say no. As we started getting fined by immigration for not recording foreigner's immigration details, the answer is always no. Maybe a fraction of a percent of aforementioned people will read this and think twice before handing over their passport to Somchai's Rentals et al, because you need your passport, and only an idiot hands it over to a motorbike company and then tries to check into a luxury hotel without it. If you come to my hotel and demand to be checked in, I'll ask you "What sort of a person hands over their passport to a motorcycle hire company anyway?" and if you booked online I won't authorise a refund. Why should my company lose money because you messed up?

• Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Wouldn't most people book into a hotel first, then go and rent a bike. Why would people be running around getting a bike before they know where they are sleeping, or at least want to drop luggage before getting a bike.

1 minute ago, Peterw42 said:

Wouldn't most people book into a hotel first, then go and rent a bike. Why would people be running around getting a bike before they know where they are sleeping, or at least want to drop luggage before getting a bike.

Exactly, this guy sounds like a real twonk

8 minutes ago, grollies said:

on the back of another topic around passports running now, would you accept a copy if it has all the necessary info?