How accurate is Google Maps for navigation in Thailand?

Saltire

I have been driving in Thailand for almost 2 years now but generally no further than Kanchanaburi city from Sangkhlaburi, about 2 to 3 hours and so I now know this route well.

Next week I have a road trip planned to Mae Chaem in Chiang Mai area via Tak for an overnight stop, en route to a friend's wedding.

Most of the route looks like long runs on highways but I am wondering how much to rely on Google maps for directions, especially in and around the towns?

Thanks

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Everyone I know uses it every day, including myself, even if we know the routes inside out. The reason is the traffic monitoring and alternate routing it gives you is invaluable. I'm not sure who uses GPS in car units anymore, as everyone's life is on their smartphones and connected in later model cars with apple carplay or android auto now.

Yes, it's mostly excellent, Occasionally it screws up a left or right turn, but mostly works. Not sure how the mapping is in Chiang Mai region, someone from there will have to advise.

We use Google maps all the time if going anywhere new or approaching from a different direction, ie: next week we will be going from Korat to Kanchanaburi on route 2, been to Kanchanaburi many times but only from the Pattaya area so we will rely on Google maps, it is miles better than the heap of crap GPS that Toyota puts in the Fortuna ????

And it is also very good at suggesting alternative routes in real time to avoid delays.

5 minutes ago, jackdd said:

Works good

But you should pay attention to where it sends you if you go into remote areas, especially in mountains. It might send you somewhere serious offroad, because for some reason it thinks that's a normal road

Great advice thanks as the last 2 hours or so, I have been told, is very twisty and hilly. On the other hand on the maps for that area there looks like few alternate routes anyway.