BANGKOK 18 March 2019 20:29
chowny77

Going to Ho Chi Minh City for visa

I will be flying early Mondy morning to Ho Chi Minh City to obtain a Non-O Ed visa for the degree I am studying for. I was just wondering if anyone could give a heads-up on what to expect regarding with the consulate. Plus any tips on where is best to eat or just hang out as I will have some time to kill before my room is available after being processed. Luckily the place I will be staying will send a taxi for me and it will drop me off at the consulate once I exit arrivals. I did read something about having to pay in US dollars for the Thai visa, just would like to confirm if this is still the case. Any advice would be appreciated. 

Edited by chowny77

Hotels around September 23 Park are nice, plenty of places to eat and drink.

Don't forget to try Highlands Coffee for a very reasonably price Banh Mi and Viet coffee combo.

I'd get the bus from the airport to the hotel, it's very cheap.

Yep, they want USD.

Edited by BritManToo
  • Like 1

11 minutes ago, brexiteer said:

Pho.

That's all...... going to Saigon don't come back without eating Pho.

Yep, Pho (pronounced fur) is similar to gwitteow in Thailand.

It's totally delicious and always prepared with great care, normally with beef slices.

Compulsory.

Edited by scorecard

Early morning? Flights i am aware of land about 9am up. Don't think you will make consulate before 11.30. Not sure why britmantoo crossed out bus 109 from airport. 20k dong. IMO stay district 1. Bui Vien street area. Saigon is a ripper. Spend few days if possible. The consulate if fair but by the rules. Drop off AM pick up PM next day. Small joint small que. Just re read your op. Your obtaining visa on arrival with " invitation letter"?. If so NO way you will make consulate AM

Edited by DrJack54
Error

Beef is Pho Bo ,,, if your ant-beef the chicken is Pho Ga

Usually about 25,000 Dong ,, about $1 of the US variety

3 minutes ago, DrJack54 said: