Do you consider Cambodia more dangerous in general than Thailand?

Captain 776

I have lived in Thailand 13 yrs now and visited Cambodia 6 times, longest stay was 8 days when we did a motorcycle tour off the main roads thru the countryside.

In my trips there, I never had a problem.

I see some discussion here about living in Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, or Philippines.

From things I have read, it seems to me Cambodia is more dangerous..........what are your thoughts and also comment on Phil’s and Vietnam if you have experience there.

thanks

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My first day I ever set foot in Cambodia which was 2013 I had my brand new at the time iphone 5 stolen from my hands in Phnom Penh whilst using google maps trying to navigate around, the thieves snatched it from my hands on a motorcycle, they came up the pavement and drove off. £600 odd gone in a blink of an eye. I was a newbie to Asia so wasn't on guard to stuff like this happening

My 2nd trip a year or so later I was in a tuk tuk from airport to my hotel and had some thieves try to steal my laptop bag out of the tuk tuk but luckily i was able to kick them away.

Seems like it's a very common thing in Phnom Penh and Cambodia in general.

Poorer people are more desperate, I've only stayed in Bangkok but everyone has there phones out all the time and no fear of getting stolen. Obviously, there are poor people in Thailland too but in Bangkok they are priced out so it doesn't attract the lower class so much except the bar girls in pattaya and nana/soi cowboy.

Obviously, crime exists in Thailand but I've never witnessed or seen any or had bad experience in greater Bangkok when I've been there which is about 1 year in total over the course of many years.

I stayed in Cambodia for about 1 week on 2 occasions and had 2 incidents happen.

Some may say it's bad luck, but only Cambodian expats will disagree that it's more dangerous than Thailand