BANGKOK 19 April 2019 17:24
SurinMel

Building a home in Surin this year. Any tips?

I'm a retired building contractor from USA, marrying a Thai woman from Surin, Isaan. I plan to build a home on the family land near Rattanaburi, and need to familiarize myself with how this is done in that area.

Surin City is our best nearby building materials location, with HomePro and Thai Watsadu outlets, as well as SCG. But we're a long way from Bangkok, so choices seem limited. I plan to use a pre-cut steel frame, AAC concrete exterior wall panels, and in general try to not have any wood where subterranean termites can get at it. 

I'm looking for a supplier for sprayed polyurethane foam wall and ceiling insulation near Surin City.

I'd like to share construction notes with anyone in this area.

• Like 1

The forum at coolthaihouse is a veritable bible for home builders and home owners nationwide.

OK, maybe it's only a treasure trove.

• Like 2

Just remember to have patience. Also know that there is a consumer protection law that dictates what terms shall be in the contract. Regardless you are going to be frustrated as you know what you are doing and the standards here are far different. Get a copy of the builders work permit and passport. Take photos of money exchanges and have builder give you written receipts for each draw. Good luck with the build.

Sent from my iPhone using Thaivisa Connect

• Like 1

7 hours ago, DepDavid said:

Oh as far as materials check out Ruangsangthai in Buriram. They have a foreign sals desk with English speaking staff. As always compare prices but Bob at Ruangsangthai will work with you on big orders and they do deliver. They also service and repair most tools they sell.

Are you sure about delivery? Looks like their is 120kms between where the OP is building and the merchants you speak of.

Not sure about the distance but it might be worth exploring if the price difference outweighs any delivery costs.

Posted (edited)