Welding Nubee

LukKrueng

Hi all,

I just bought a new welding machine - Kanto KT-IGBT-451 and trying to get the hang of welding... 

I can get a spark but can't hold an arc for more than a couple of seconds at a time (most time I cant get beyond the spark..).

I am using Kobe Steel electrodes, RB-26/2.6mm. The welder has a 2nd knob for arc force and I tried various settings from min to max and many steps in between.

I have read on some welding forums that some rodes are easier to work with and I guess that as a beginner I might be better off trying those. The question is - which is the best for beginners that is available in Thailand? 

I would appreciate any information about electrodes available here and also if anyone can explain how to use the arc force.

Thanks ????

• Replies 102
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Task A - Nip down to your local welding supply place and get an "automatic" welding helmet, it makes life sooo much easier.

Get some 1/4" scrap and practice starting and holding the arc, about 80A should be good with those rods.

No idea what "arc force" does, is the manual any help? Failing that set it mid-way and forget it.

Electrodes here are limited to 6013 Kobe,Bison and maybe one other.

It took me a year on and off to get the hang of it and I am still crap.

A few tips I found out for myself.

Like you i tried all the settings and have realised that for general 1.5-2.3g steel a setting of 105A gets the steel hot enough almost immediately.

If your steel is painted forget it though primer is ok.

I prefer the bison electrodes but they must be dry, in wet season i have put mine in the oven and then kept them inside in a cling film.

Thicker steel is much easier to weld, the 1.2g requires more skill and a setting around 75A so as not to burn a hole in it.

Like most jobs its not as easy as it looks, and needs practice.