Work permit without a degree

Hi! I found a company in Bangkok, they told me I dont need a degree to get the work permit, I signed their offer, resigned from my job... and then they told me that the degree is apparently required and they withdraw from the offer, eh :d I plan to spend 2 - 3 months in Bangkok now to look for a nice project back in Europe, but:

I work in IT, I have 5 years of documented experience, I also have a document that I studied at a university for 3 years, just without getting a bachelor degree. I also have work experience in two different countries. Does that still disqualifies me to get the work permit? Do I really have to enroll to a university and spend 3.5 years getting a bachelor before I can start legally working in Thailand?

Thanks a lot for any answers, and welcome - its my first post here! :-)

You do not need a degree for a W/P (except teaching).

You may be asked to sign a document confirming your stated qualifications (they don't have to be a degree).

Of course an employer can stipulate that a degree is required in order to get the job but that's nothing to do with the W/P.

• Like 2

Can confirm you do not need a degree for work permit, although I should note that I work for my own (49%) company here and not for someone else. Not sure how my lawyer managed that one for me but considering that a) - he's a half-fraudulent moron and b) - my professional experience is minimal at best, I think it should be entirely possible for you. 

God dammit, thats a big surprise for me, thank you very much for the answers.

Hm, they basically told me they consulted with their lawyers after receiving my documents, and they said there is a very high chance it will be rejected because of no diploma, and hence they dont want to even try. I tried to give them my high school diploma and job references as well, but they say its impossible anyway. So it might just be an excuse for them not to hire me?

5 minutes ago, ivenius said: