Jump to content
BANGKOK 25 June 2019 01:09
n210mp

To the slightly pompous member of a 4 ball today at the Fleet Golf course Sattahip

Recommended Posts

Today as I was playing as a "singleton walker' at the Royal Thai navy "Fleet" course at Sattahip and approaching the Tee for hole number 6 I was passed about 25 yards away from the Tee by two golfers in a buggy who  proceeded to set up to Tee off.

They were soon accompanied by two other golfer also in a buggy. In other words a four ball!

 

Feeling a little "miffed" that they did not ask "if they could go through" I asked them if they intended to "play through me?" 

 

One of them said "Only if you dont mind" in a slightly sarcastic and arrogant  manner!!!!

 

I answered that I did mind and proceeded to set up on the ladies Tee about 30 yards in front of them .

 

As I was setting up "the loud one" said something about  (me presumably) not knowing the rules!

Obviously this golfer still thinks that "Single players do not have any "priority" on a golf course !

 

The "loud ones" companions were, I am pleased to say very courteous and agreeable even congratulating me on a good Tee shot but the "odd bod" could have upset what was a good day of golf and therefore to avoid any similar events taking place, I attach for TV members a little memorandum on the rule changes  I think of 2004 reflecting the recognition that a "Single Player is now recognised as a "group!

 

 

Updated February 13, 2019

Does a golfer playing alone have to yield to all other groups on the golf course? Asked another way, does a single have any right to play through, or does a single have to allow all other groups to play through despite being faster?

 

Let's begin answering this by posing another question, a pop quiz:

 

You are playing in a group of four. Several holes in front of your group are open. A single catches up to your group. Should your group:
A. Offer to let the single play through
B. Ignore the single, because singles have no standing on the golf course

 

The correct answer is - or should be - "A." If you answered "B," then you are one of those golfers who mistakenly believes that the rule book says golfers playing alone have no rights on the course.

 

Singles On the Course Used to be Lowest Priority

If you still believe today that singles have no standing, you probably have this belief because the Etiquette section of the Official Rules of Golf used to say just that! In fact, it said exactly this:

 
"A single player has no standing and should give way to a match of any kind."
 

John Hutchinson, who runs the Web site RulesHistory.com, explains the reasoning behind that old statement by the R&A and USGA:

 
"Up to that time, priority went in numerical order - four-ball gave way to three-ball, etc. The basis of this plan was that fewer players were presumed to be faster, and singles were (presumed to be) merely practicing, not competing."
 

But note above that we said the rule book used to include the statement about singles having no standing. That's because it no longer does; and, in fact, it now says the opposite.

 

But Today, Playing Through Is All About Speed

The statement "a single player has no standing and should give way to a match of any kind" was removed from the Official Rules of Golf in revisions for the 2004 edition, when, Hutchinson notes, "the emphasis changed to how fast any particular group were playing, regardless of the number in the group."

 

In other words, beginning in 2004, the etiquette guidelines in the rule book said that speed of play - regardless of how many golfers are in any particular group - determines whether a group should be allowed to play through.

 

Faster Groups Play Through ... But Is a Single a 'Group'?

But is a single a group? The 2004 revisions clearly implied that the USGA and R&A consider a single a "group," but did not explicitly state that. So another revision, in 2008, clarified that point and explicitly stated that a single is a "group," and has the same rights as any other group.

 

Here is what now appears in the Etiquette guidelines of the Official Rules of Golf:

 
  • In the "Pace of Play" section: "It is a group's responsibility to keep up with the group in front. If it loses a clear hole and it is delaying the group behind, it should invite the group behind to play through, irrespective of the number of players in that group." (emphasis mine)
  • In the "Priority on the Course" section: "Unless otherwise determined by the Committee, priority on the course is determined by a group's pace of play. Any group playing a whole round is entitled to pass a group playing a shorter round. The term 'group' includes a single player."
 

"So, once and for all, a single on the course deserves the same consideration as any other group of golfers, according to the USGA and the R&A.

 

Singles Get the Same Considerations as Other Groups ...

Unless. The rule book does give golf courses an out, however, by including that "unless otherwise determined by the Committee" bit quoted above. So while the Rules of Golfare clear that singles do have standing on the course, the rule book also gives committees the option to decide differently. If you're allowed to play as a single at a course, but then encounter trouble on the course, check with the pro about club policies - and make sure he or she understands the current USGA/R&A guidelines on the issue.

 

Because, after all these years, some (usually older) golfers are still unaware of the changes to the rule book in this area. My sense, when encountering this issue on the course or hearing stories from other golfers, is that most golfers who answer "B" to the question posed at the top of this article do so because they simply aren't aware that the guidelines have changed.

 

It should also be noted that a golf course sets its own policies regarding groupings. Some courses that are particularly busy on weekends and holidays might require all groups to include four golfers. Show up alone at one of those courses and you'll have to wait until other golfers come along with whom you can be grouped.

 

Also, a golfer who begins his or her round alone should always be prepared to pair up with other players during the round if the overall pace of play slows down and the single catches up to another single, a twosome or a threesome, and there is no opening ahead of that group."

 

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A single on a golf course has no rights over any larger group of players. That's the way it has always been.

Having said that, if common sense prevails it's preferable to let a single player through to speed up play.

The OP said he was passed by a couple of golfers. That to me says he was playing too slowly, unless they have commenced the round from the sixth hole.

If someone is faster than me, I let them through, irrespective of group size. It's pretty rare for someone to keep pace with me.

  • Thanks 1
  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies.

 

 

 

 Laseit first I would be pleased if you could comment on the attachment that I added to my post with regard to a rule change by the Golf two leading authorities ? 

 

Particularly "

But Today, Playing Through Is All About Speed

The statement "a single player has no standing and should give way to a match of any kind" was removed from the Official Rules of Golf in revisions for the 2004 edition, when, Hutchinson notes, "the emphasis changed to how fast any particular group were playing, regardless of the number in the group."

 

And "

Singles Get the Same Considerations as Other Groups ...

Unless. The rule book does give golf courses an out, however, by including that "unless otherwise determined by the Committee" bit quoted above. So while the Rules of Golfare clear that singles do have standing on the course, the rule book also gives committees the option to decide differently. If you're allowed to play as a single at a course, but then encounter trouble on the course, check with the pro about club policies - and make sure he or she understands the current USGA/R&A guidelines on the issue."

 

AS far as playing slowly is concerned I had just been  stopped for a drink at the small cafe type place after hole 5 and certainly was aware of the 4 ball and that is why I was on my way to the 6th Tee when they or two of them deemed fit to pass me , may I also add that because I had seen their "play"  on the 5th hole up towards the green from my place at the cafe, I also was well aware that after I had Teed off on the 6th they would not be able to either catch me or "push me"!

 

 

Topt. Thanks for your comment but in all honesty it was only one of them that was a bit "boorish" and the other 3 golfers were just fine!  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
31 minutes ago, Lacessit said:

A single on a golf course has no rights over any larger group of players. That's the way it has always been.

Having said that, if common sense prevails it's preferable to let a single player through to speed up play.

The OP said he was passed by a couple of golfers. That to me says he was playing too slowly, unless they have commenced the round from the sixth hole.

If someone is faster than me, I let them through, irrespective of group size. It's pretty rare for someone to keep pace with me.

Simply not true see my other post! (IMHO)

 

Edited by n210mp
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, n210mp said:

Simply not true see my other post!

 

Fair enough. However, the fact you had stopped for a drink allowed them to catch you. Perhaps you were expecting them to do likewise.

You are generating a lot of sound and fury about a very minor issue. There are always going to be people who are a joy to play with, and others where it's a trial. Fortunately, the latter seem to be a small minority.

Move on.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

You have completely missed the point and it also looks as though you did not read my post thoroughly  with the attachment!

 

It seems from a very  "definitive black and white post"  where you are quite confident that you were right you go 180 degrees in the opposite direction with a wimpish  "fair enough" which at its best is  patronising,  maybe an apology and a correction  for your first misleading opinion ?

 

Once again if you take time to read my post "slowly at least 3 times" you will understand that "they" in fact passed me at warp speed (or at least two of them did)  about 20 yards  to the  6th tee !

 

Please Laseit "keep up to speed" when debating with me and keep the personal stuff (Sound and fury ?) out of your replies,  I do not generate anything in this thread other  than the need to "educate" people like you who like the "boor" in today's adventure was of the "Pompous and Know it all variety" 

Edited by n210mp
  • Sad 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, n210mp said:

You have completely missed the point and it also looks as though you did not read my post thoroughly  with the attachment!

 

It seems from a very  "definitive black and white post"  where you are quite confident that you were right you go 180 degrees in the opposite direction with a wimpish  "fair enough" which at its best is  patronising,  maybe an apology and a correction  for your first misleading opinion ?

 

Once again if you take time to read my post "slowly at least 3 times" you will understand that "they" in fact passed me at warp speed (or at least two of them did)  about 20 yards  to the  6th tee !

 

Please Laseit "keep up to speed" when debating with me and keep the personal stuff (Sound and fury ?) out of your replies,  I do not generate anything in this thread other  than the need to "educate" people like you who like the "boor" in today's adventure was of the "Pompous and Know it all variety" 

As a matter of curiosity, what is your handicap?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, SteveK said:

Next there's going to be a thousand-word post about the pompous guy who didn't hold the door open at Siam Paragon. Or the person seen dropping a receipt whilst walking down Sukhumvit road. Or the old lady who pushed in front of you at the queue for the ticket machine at a BTS station.

 

Much more important things to worry about.

So why get involved in a post like this then ?

Your sense of "logic" and why you felt the need to comment  escapes me and is completely "off topic" with my OP.

This is the Golf forum after all! 

 

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, worgeordie said:

Golf....spoils a good walk.

regards worgeordie

No lad it "enhances" a good walk !

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)

I don’t play golf as i find it boring but I’ve just noticed something VERY interesting....

 

.....Golf spelt backwards is flog!

 

 

Edited by NightSky
  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×
×
  • Create New...