Region/location advice

I may be looking to spend 1 or 2 years in Thailand in the next year or so with my british partner, so we'd be looking for a long term rental (ideally a villa/house/bungalow) but am after recommendations for areas to look at.  We visit twice yearly anyway, and love the hustle and bustle of BKK and Pattaya, but also love peace and quiet (contradictions i know). 

Ideally we'd like somewhere with great nightlife and a city/town where we can get by with our limited Thai, but also somewhere quiet enough to enjoy the garden.  I drive and ride bikes in Thailand and have done for many years so small commutes wouldn't be an issue on a daily basis

where would be good areas to look please?

16 minutes ago, Oxx said:

Hua Hin might be a nice compromise.  Or Chiang Mai.

Yes, somewhere around Hua Hin. Others will chime in about this. I have not been down that way for a few years but as a Chiang Mai resident, I would forget this area now due to the smog or pollution that's starts from mid January to April. It is not worth it for your health. 

Does Hua Hin really have "great nightlife"? I didnt notice it when I was there, though I admit that I wasnt looking for it and would not have been happy had I found it.

I would have thought that the OP should consider renting somewhere just outside Pattaya, as that will be quiet but will be very near as much nightlife as anyone could possibly want. Also within an hour of the main airport and just 90 minutes from Bangkok, with regular transport links to both.

I would look at Huay Yai, or parts of Jomtien, or perhaps Bang Saray, or maybe near Lake Mabprachan. All those areas have many houses with gardens for rent. Even just across Sukumvit on the darkside it is easy to find quiet housing villages. And all are just a short drive away from Pattaya's nightlife and shops and restaurants. They all also offer easy access to many fairly attractive road trips.