Only One Income Source Accepted for Non-O Extension

I went to Immigration to get an extension on my non-O visa based on marriage. I teach English here, and I wanted to use the income method of receiving at least 40,000 baht per month, as I do not have 400,000 baht sitting in the bank. My school pays 32,000 baht per month as a base salary and I get an additional 24,000 baht per month from family in America.

Immigration said I had to choose one source of income for them to consider, and since neither source is over 40,000 baht, I cannot get a non-O extension. This does not make much sense to me. I am getting a total income of 56,000 baht per month from two sources, but Immigration will only consider one. Has anyone else encountered this? It appears at this point that I will have to get a non-B visa through my school because both income sources are less than 40,000 baht each. I have been receiving non-O extensions for the last three years when the embassy was issuing income affidavits. Why won't Immigration look at both sources and add the two?

What office was this???

With the income based method I think practically all of us (at least from the UK) rely on multiple income sources to reach the income required for our extensions, whether they be extensions based on marriage or retirement. Very few of us will receive a pension (income) of more than 40/65k baht pm from a single source.

• Like 2

Others have had the same problem when working here and wanting to combine that income from another source. They require all the income to be from working here.

What are you using to prove your income from outside the country?

The problem has arisen before when people were using proof of income from an embassy. Not sure if they would be more flexible if you were using transfers from abroad into a Thai bank for the proof.