Teaching in Thailand

Hello

I have a degree from the UK (Not in teaching)  and live in Australia.

I am thinking of teaching in Thailand next year.

From the forums it appears a degree of any sort plus a TEFL / CELTA can get you a teaching post in a company / school.

I am looking at doing the CELTA certification to add to my requirements, however, do I not need to do any specific short teaching training course on top to show proficiency in teaching to get my licence as well as TEFL/CELTA + Degree?

It seems just having a degree plus CELTA/TEFL is enough? 

Also how does one then go about obtaining the teachers licence, is that something I need to arrange when there or is that something the school will sort out?

Many thanks for any input

Skip the TEFL.  The few doors it will open for you are not worth the money.  The degree is by far, the most important.  Add a pulse and a clean rap sheet, and your hired.. for about half of what a fast food worker makes in the West. 

The TEFL schools emphasize the practice teaching, but it seems like those programs are more suitable for NNES and non degree holders. You can brush up on parts of speech, and parts of a sentence on your own.  I like hypergrammar.  

I have never met a graduate of a decent university who was unable to enter a classroom.  The paperwork is a goddamn nightmare, that is the deal killer for me, since I am on a retirement extension, which is far easier to maintain than teacher stuff. 

You need a BA in any field, not necessarily a TEFL, or a CELTA.  Once you've found a teaching position, the school should assist you to apply for a provisional teacher's license, good for two years.

You need some documents from the school, a letter of employment, a letter from the educational area office xxx, please see: