Collecting Child Support from Parent in Thailand

anita1995

Hello,

I'm trying to figure out how to collect back owed child support money from my father, who lives in Thailand. My father left my mother and I when I was just two yrs old, and never paid a cent in child support to my mother. My mother and I live in the states, and don't know how to go about this process. Since Thailand isn't a country that the U.S. has a child support arrangement with, I don't even know if getting the owed child support is possible.

Maybe you could try to come to Thailand and meet your dad? I just hope that right now money isn't what drives you there are much higher stakes for you.

I want to assume this isn't yet another troll thread. If it was I'd say it is borderline creative.

3 hours ago, anita1995 said:

Since Thailand isn't a country that the U.S. has a child support arrangement with, I don't even know if getting the owed child support is possible.

I'm no expert and you may want to double check these suggestions.

If he is still a US citizen (neither renounced or revoked) and living in Thailand on some form of a long term visa , you may be able to at least get his attention in a serious way.

To renew his Thailand visa he needs a valid US passport. US Passports are renewed every 10 years.  If you are lucky , you may be able to prevent him from renewing the US passport at least temporarily until he makes better arrangements than the zero payments made so far. Apparently they were not informed of his non-payment status or this would have all come to a head a long time ago. 

If the non-payment becomes a felony the information may be transmitted to Thai immigration and he might be denied re-entry to Thailand if he leaves for one reason or another .......

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Passport Denial for Failure to Pay Child Support: