Girlfriend has UK tourist VISA. Can we travel to the UK with separate flights?

My GF has a tourist VISA for the UK, and I'm looking to go back in September. Are we able to buy a single flight to Europe, say Holland or Norway, and then fly directly (on another single) to the UK, or does our initial and only ticket have to have the end destination of the UK? I've read about the transit VISA but I'm not sure how or where to apply for this, and if it's needed. If we book the direct flights from Bangkok to Manchester, they will transfer our luggage and she will not need to go through immigration but with single flights (so much cheaper in this case), we will need to grab our bags and check into the next flight.  

I've been reading up on this but I'm a bit lost, this is my first time bringing my GF back to England and it's only for a few weeks. I'll be with her on the journey if that or my passport helps in anyway? Any advice is greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,

Joe

Yes, in theory she can travel to the UK on her own, via Europe, in the way you describe but there are dangers.
Carriers will more than likely want to see a visa if she is using a single ticket to travel to Europe, she may be planning to travel to the UK, again on a single ticket, but as far as they’re concerned she’s a single Thai lass traveling on a one way ticket, there’s a strong chance they’d not let her board the flight, they are liable for a fine, the cost of returning her to Thailand as well as any detention costs, if the European Immigration authorities decide she’s not properly documented.
If she makes it to Europe she will more than likely have a problem flying to the UK, even with Visa.
There’s no actual requirement to have a return ticket for the UK, but she must demonstrate that she has the means to return home and intends to do so.