BANGKOK 18 August 2019 20:51
Geordieabroad

Staying in Thailand 6 months per year

I have been staying in Thailand for a few years with an extension based on retirement. I am considering buying a property back in the U.K. and spending 50% of the year in U.K. and 50% in Thailand. What would be the best way (with regard to visas) for my 6 months in Thailand each year? I'm assuming that the extension i already have would run out as i wouldn't be doing 90 day reports and maybe wouldn't be in Thailand on the renewal date

Posted (edited)

The 90 day report isn't an issue as no need to do them when back in UK. 

Are you on 12 month extensions? Based on ?

Not possible to organize your time in los around your date to apply for subsequent extensions?

Edited by DrJack54
  • Like 1

I met a Kiwi who stays in Thailand 6 months on a retirement visa Non O retirement and renews it yearly. He go to Australia for 6 months to work and make money. This is OK with immigration.

• Like 1

You only have to do a report if you stay longer than 90 days in the country. the 90 days start counting again when you return. Has nothing to do with your extension. As long as you are back on time to renew, you are ok.

• Like 1

Keep all the qualifying money in Thailand, when ready to return get a nonImm ‘O’ visa with bank book copies, return and extend after two months. Then return to UK with a re-entry permit. That is what I had to do when my passport expired while I was in UK for my seven month summer stay. 

Posted (edited)

Many people spend winters in Thailand on a retirement extension. If you have it all set up, and use the 800k in the bank, and can afford to leave it there, I say carry on as before. Or same if you use an agent. Income, 65,000 pcm, every month, would not be suitable unless you plan to be spending it all.

90 day reporting not required when you are out of the country.

Edited by jacko45k