Air con efficiency

Kenny202

Just wondering is an air con more or less efficient / effective with fan speed higher or lower? I would have thought a lower fan speed would give the air passing the condensor more time to cool.

Our bedroom aircon struggles when temps up around 40 plus. I noticed today I turned the fan speed up and it did seem to pull the room temp down more. Is there any science to this?

Sent from my SM-J730GM using Thailand Forum - Thaivisa mobile app

I don't know about fan speed and im not an aircon engineer but from my own experience, when the aircon isn't working first job is to get it cleaned properly (usually once every 4 to 6 months).

If its a very old unit it needs replacing (this might also reflect in the electricity bill and performance and noise of the unit), dont put up with over inflated electricity bill because running a good aircon shouldn't cost a fortune.

Also the unit needs to be the right size for the room area (BTU/square meter)

23 minutes ago, Kenny202 said:

Just wondering is an air con more or less efficient / effective with fan speed higher or lower? I would have thought a lower fan speed would give the air passing the condensor more time to cool.

Our bedroom aircon struggles when temps up around 40 plus. I noticed today I turned the fan speed up and it did seem to pull the room temp down more. Is there any science to this?

If everything is functioning properly then of course if you use the higher fan speed settings its going to cool the room faster. Just like when you get in a hot car, you crank it up on high until you get comfortable then dial the fan speed and temp back. Still blows cold air on high or low settings. Part of the way the aircon works is by circulating the air in the room and pulling the warmer air from up high and blowing cold air down - over and over again.