Is this shower system wired correctly?

davidst01

I raised the thread:

It took a while to find an 'electrician' who had experience. One guy we phoned said he was an electrical worker and a window maker. I thought to myself if my doctor told me that he was half a dentist and half a proctologist then I would run a mile. 

Anyways, we found a guy who was 100% an electrician. He told us in relation to the above problem that the installer from before had incorrectly wired the brown and blue i.e. they were in the wrong slots. The photo I took represents the correct way. Can anyone  confirm this. 

thanks

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply
4 minutes ago, Moonlover said:

Impossible to tell from the photograph. Do you have the installation instructions?

That should tell which way round 'live' and 'neutral' should be connected.

I will try to find them and put a copy on here

I'm not an electrician but from my experience with Thai house electrics the problem is Thai electricians don't distinguish between L and N, they tend to interchange them. Better to have this checked out, good luck finding a qualified electrician over here; I've had 4 out to my place with a wide array of answers/solutions to various problems. By the way I had the same issue with one of my shower taps, finally disconnected the heater for fear of getting electrocuted.

Yep, L and N are not always correct. Even in my house i wired myself i ran out of colors so used all brown and all green in spots. Need to test. Every house ive lived in hete that wasnt built by me would have atleast one plug with the neutral and live backwards causing all kinds of havoc..

check to see where the earth goes from the terminal.

Is it actually going to earth?

i.e. to a long metal rod that will be driven into the ground outside.

If there is a rod, is the earth wire from your consumer unit connected to the rod?

if the neutral and line wires are crossed that does not mean you will get a shock from your tap.