Returning to UK to work at 62 - advice please?

jimballard

I need some advice please...

62 years old and married and living in Isaan backwater for 10 years. Got house and old truck. Two children under 10 years old. I have not been in the UK for 12 years.

I have been staying here on a marriage visa using 40k baht/month method. Due to a big medical bill two years ago I have only 250000 baht in bank.

The UK pound is now under 38 baht and so my UK income has dropped well below 40k baht/month. Never dreamed this would happen. Will not be able to extend visa this year. As a family we no longer have enough income. My wife cannot work due to back/neck injury from traffic accident.

I am running out of options and getting desperate.

How easy for me to go back to UK and work? I was a truck mechanic for 30+ years and can drive a taxi.

I have no property in the UK, just a sister in Mitcham who I don't get on with but she might help a bit. I am disconnected from current UK situation.

I can arrive in UK with about £2000 to set up. I have lost touch with how things are there. Where is the best place to locate to get a job and rent somrwhere for a few years? I hear unemployment is v low. How easy to get a job at 62?

Thankyou

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Rather than renting on your own, you might want to consider sharing, check out somewhere like Cohabitas.

There are jobs around and places like B&Q take on seniors.Local councils too as wardens etc.

If you can get your licence, Taxi driving (private hire) is a good option, flexible etc.

Always jobs for courier/delivery vans too.

Be careful and take time choosing a good area. 

Best of luck !

Sorry to hear about your troubles mate, I fear it is one we are going to be hearing a lot more of in the coming months, and not just Brits but expats that cover the whole spectrum.