are postal services in HH reliable?

Hans007

My question is about the reliability of postal services in Hua Hin....

Do any of you have  bad experiences with ordering from ebay/amazon or any other online selling point?

How long before letters arrive from Europe (Germany or The Netherlands)..?

I am new to Hua Hin...as my GF speaks no Thai and very basic English i ask this.

Thank you.

Hans.

Largely depends on the service being used.

If it is something you intend to do regularly get your a PO box, 500 baht a yr.

Most Post office delivery issues tend to be because of the last link, the postman, a box will illuminate that.

Online in Thailand like Lazada, usually delivered by courier like Kerry or DHL etc. No issues.(generally)

I also find post here very hit and miss, apart from my new credit card being delivered via EMS, I've had no mail for about six weeks.

Whilst I go paperless where I can, I need some hard copies of bank statements, from Thailand and the UK, and they won't send them to a PO Box, and neither will my credit card provider. Bangkok Bank in London sent me a letter on 9 July, no sign of arrival yet.
I'm at a loss to understand where the mail goes to, it must be correctly addressed as I get some statements, but not all, it's so frustrating.    

I have been in Hua Hin for 6 years.

For the first 2-3 years numerous bills, letters and parcels (from overseas and from Thailand) never arrived at my home postal address.

After that I rented a post box at a local post office.  Now probably 95% of the items I expect do arrive, but some letters and parcels still go missing.

I suggest you follow CharlieH's suggestion - rent a post box.

I have lived in KK for 4 years, in that time i have had 5 letters and 2 small packages sent from the UK.

Of the 5 letters only 3 arrived and inly one if the packages.

My daughter regularly sends packages from BKK to KK and within 2 days they arrive, so where is the problem ?

21 minutes ago, Almer said: