Being asked to produce your driving licence.

Brer

I have 10 years of driving experience in Thailand cities and country. In the past as a farang driving, in most police checkpoints I was usually just waved through and very very rarely I ever had to produce a driving licence.

Lately I find I am being stopped far more often and asked to produce a licence and I just hand over my Australian card which in most cases will suffice, now I find I am being asked for international more often. I do have an IDP and I have produced. It does make me laugh when they hold it upside staring at the Russian page though.

The thing is, is there now a deliberate targeting of farangs driving (under national security or some <deleted> just to hassle us) and I am not talking about driving around on a bike in Pattaya?

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I do get stopped occasionally but have the impression that if the police man notices that I am a farang he wants to practice his English language skills (and I play the game). Sometimes they ask me for my driving licence but it is hardly checked.

Once in a while the police man is more interested in my girlfriend as she get questions as where are you from where do you live and in one case the man asked for her phone number (!).

I've driven all over Thailand, stopped at check points more than a hundred times, they nearly always asked for a driving license. They might not seriously check it, but they ask to see it.

Only the check points which you might encounter in the evening or night where they specifically check for drunk drivers don't ask for a driving license.

the reason they want to see a drivers license is because if you don't have one they will fine you.

on my scooter i get stopped at check points in town. no license? baht please. it has been that way for six years.

since the election there is a feeling here in Hua Hin that the police are setting up more illegal roadblocks at night and shaking down Thai and Farang alike.