Where to buy whole chicken for roasting

Guderian

I normally get a chicken ready-cooked from the local market when I want one, 180 to 200 Baht for a decent-sized bird and they're usually tender and tasty, with no odd Thai marinades, or  stuffing that looks like it's made from road sweepings.

Just for fun, though, I thought I might try roasting one myself. Tesco and Big C don't seem to do whole chickens of any sort (not sure about Big C Extra). Makro has some decent-sized birds at a reasonable price, but I've no idea if they're broilers or young, tender birds. They look a bit large to be the latter, but I'm no expert. Foodland has frozen whole chickens, some small ones that are pretty cheap, and bigger ones that are more expensive (per kilo, I mean) labelled "Khon Kaen Chicken". I had a look in Friendship and didn't notice anything.

Does anybody here roast their own chickens, and if so where do you get your birds? Has anybody tried the whole chickens from Makro or the frozen variety, especially the Khon Kaen chickens, from Foodland? Thanks for any information.

Big C extra and Foodland both have fresh chickens 180-200 baht

In Big C turn left as you go in the meat entrance and they are straight ahead bottom shelf..............in Foodland as you look at the prepacked meats they are normally on the right bottom shelf

18 minutes ago, thaiflyer1 said:

Big C extra and Foodland both have fresh chickens 180-200 baht

In Big C turn left as you go in the meat entrance and they are straight ahead bottom shelf..............in Foodland as you look at the prepacked meats they are normally on the right bottom shelf

Thanks, I had a look in Foodland yesterday but could only see the frozen versions.