Electricity going up every month

Kenny202

Up until about a year ago our electricity bill normally around 1500 baht. In the 2 or three hotter months it would go to 2000-2500.

Been like that last 3 years I lived here. Last 6 months electricity has sky rocketed firstly to 3500 baht and now 4000 baht.

I was an electrician many years ago so decided this morning to go and check a few things. Located our meter and turned all of the circuit breakers off (none of which are marked, not even the main switch). Meter stopped dead so no one stealing our power (we live in a modern estate). Turned the breakers back on and the meter was spinning. Started unplugging things...main power draw freezer and fridge and pretty much the only things on apart from a few power boards with chargers. After unplugging the fridge and freezer meter had slowed but not a lot. I came in and turned off the TV and that seemed to be the thing drawing the most power! Its a 42" LED Samsung, probably about 5 years old. We leave it on pretty liberally too whether watching it or not.

Other than that we run air cons day and night but a bit cooler now and don't turn on until lunchtime now. Do a fair bit of washing. I use an oven and microwave a bit but most of our cooking done on gas. Lights mostly LED's. Having said that I don't think the use of these things has increased from normal over the last 6 months. I know the last month if anything power should be down as it is a wee bit cooler now and using air cons less and just with the cooler ambient temps fridges, air cons, freezers etc should be working less.

From what I saw this morning the TV is needlessly consuming a lot of energy but on the other hand had the same TV 5 years and I don't think we leave it on any more now than we did before. I will certainly be turning it off when not in use from now on but I thought the LED TV's where pretty cheap to run? Should I turn it off at the point or standby ok?