what is going on/baht

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply
1 hour ago, madmen said:

Economy is in decent shape with massive foreign reserves, why should it drop? 

That's the story that's put about - talk to business owners. Both Thai and foreign report things are not good and getting worse.

I'm no expert but I was told they've been propping the baht up since the coup. As far as I know, the only way they can do that is with gold and foreign reserves - surely what they have left aint massive. Reports are one thing, the truth may differ.

Maybe numbers for other expats can dry your tears?

From one year (only) charts (from xe.com), high/low (rounded):

GPB loosing 16%   (43.57 -> 36.69)

EUR loosing 13%   (38.18 -> 33.22)

USD loosing  9%    (33.30 -> 30.34)

The EUR yesterday got another kick in the ... by trillion Euro gambler Draghi.

AUD (Australia) loosing 16%.

NOK (Norway) loosing 17%.

https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=THB&view=1Y

https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=EUR&to=THB&view=1Y

https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=GBP&to=THB&view=1Y
https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=AUD&to=THB&view=1Y

https://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=NOK&to=THB&view=1Y

And that was only the short term one year losses.

"Historical" numbers (10 years) can really make you cry.

GBP -40%, EUR -34%.

USD -21% and that includes an extreme short drop in 2013 (can't remember why that was).
Low at 28.64 in 2013.

Others are at about their 10 year lows now.

3 hours ago, KhaoYai said:

alk to business owners. Both Thai and foreign report things are not good and getting worse.

How Many  business owners do you really know outside of crappy beer bars? Are big corporate CEOs reporting to you..that's rhetorical 

1 hour ago, madmen said:

How Many  business owners do you really know outside of crappy beer bars? Are big corporate CEOs reporting to you..that's rhetorical