Sin Sod - who here got married without paying and what makes it not apply?

bbi1

Did you pay sin sod when marrying?  

192 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Who here has gotten married without paying sin sod? What factors also influence sin sod not being applicable where a Thai person wouldn't pay it? Would they do it if the girl was dirvorced? What about if she had a kid already? What about both? Any other circumstances?

• Replies 156
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My wife is a school teacher by trade - excellent education, owns far more land than I do, etc - I paid ZERO sinsod. She has two daughters - now living with Gran - from a pathetic Thai man she married in name only.

If the girl has been married before AND/OR has kids then I would suggest zero sinsod as the right price. If you met her in a bar, I would also not pay sinsod - she's is a hooker after all !!!  I think many Thai parents accept the fact they will get zero sinsod in these instances, but do not want to be insulted, she is their daughter remember.

My advice if she has kids and/or divorced, sit down with parents and be honest and say you will not pay a sinsod due to her previous circumstances, BUT, are happy to help out the family in other daily matters in their lives within reason (don't go over the top). 

If your woman is from a bar, divorced with kids AND wants a sinsod, then you are just a cash cow. Walk away

Similar(ish) to Denim's above.

After 8 years living together we decided it would make visa applications easier if we formalized our happy relationship.  She had never been married, no kids and has a good (but low paying) job. 

She entered some complex negotiations with her Mother that made the Brexit issue look simple - and I bought some gold and emptied the cash machine adjacent to the hotel where we had the ceremony.