is 10 years teaching experience considered equivalent to degree?

Hello,

I have over 10 years experience teaching English in Japan.

I have references froI m my places of employ.

I have taught in High Schools, Kindergartens, etc.

I am considering moving to Thailand.

I would like to teach English.

I was offered my first teaching job in Japan, despite not having a degree.

I first came to Japan 30 years ago when there were few foreigners.

The lack of a degree was something that was overlooked.

My over 10 years experience teaching is now considered the equivalent to a degree and I can teach legally.

Is this the same in Thailand? I heard that it was. Thanks in advance for any replies.

Talk to some agencies, like the ones listed on Ajarn.com, offering positions out in more rural areas. Can't name any names, but I've known of several instances where they simply require "native English speakers", then are able to bend the rules that require a degree, because of the demand for teachers. Be warned however, this demand is due to the fact there are challenging students and high turnover. Good luck.

Thanks for the replies. This is actually common knowledge in Japan. The Japanese consulate websites clearly states for an Instructor Visa the requirements are: `Bachelor Degree or Higher, or over 10 years experience teaching`

25 minutes ago, CrunchWrapSupreme said:

Talk to some agencies, like the ones listed on Ajarn.com, offering positions out in more rural areas. Can't name any names, but I've known of several instances where they simply require "native English speakers", then are able to bend the rules that require a degree, because of the demand for teachers. Be warned however, this demand is due to the fact there are challenging students and high turnover. Good luck.

Thank you. I`m not so sure living in a rural area is my cup of tea. I am kind of a city person and was thinking living in BKK would be more suitable.