Non B Visa - Degree certificate name not include middle name

Hi all,

I have a degree but my certificate doesn't have my middle name on it and so doesn't match the name in my passport. I was in Thailand on a METV and was offered a teaching position. My recruitment agent has just told me that, in order for me to get a Non B Visa, I need to get verification of my degree and has no more advice for me.

The uni won't do that (i.e. confirm that I am the same person on my degree as on my passport.

Has anyone experienced this problem and found a solution please?

1 minute ago, blackcab said:

One solution would be to change your name in your home country to the same name but without your middle name and then get a new passport.

It's a solution if your home country will allow you to do that.

Thank you for this blackcab. I'm hoping to not have to change my name and go through the process of getting a new passport. But albeit, could be an option. Thank you.

Yes it's a massive headache in Thailand, I once had my bank try and refuse to do a transfer because the name in my passport has a middle name, but on my bank records there is no middle name, despite the fact that they obviously created my bank account from my passport! I wouldn't want to go through the hassle of changing my name to remove my middle name, then getting a new passport and having visas transferred over etc, that would be a massive pain in the balls.

Like yours, my university can only reprint my degree certificate, anything other than that such as transcripts or this verification nonsense they don't offer. I would explain the situation to the agent and if they refuse to budge, try another agency, surely one of them will have a bit of common sense? You might possibly be able to find a lawyer online who could verify that you are the rightful owner of your degree, but whether anyone in Thailand would accept such a letter is anyone's guess.

1 minute ago, SteveK said: