Minimum hours for WP?

FawnsGhost

I am on an ED visa and happy here. I had wanted to study Thai and I saved up enough to live on for at least a year. I don't have any real financial concerns, although of course Bangkok is a bit expensive and I have to be careful. Well, you always have to be careful in big cities, anyway. There are a lot of temptations (in my case, mainly food and drink) to waste money on.

I taught English in Japan for a decade. I like it and miss it. I like working in a language school and especially teaching adults and business people. I have some decent, very-famous-in-Thailand companies on my resume from when I worked in sales and lower management after returning to the US.

What I don't want is to work morning to evening, five days a week, hardly any holidays other than the rare 3-day weekend here and there. I'd like to be able to get back in the classroom up to 20 hours a week. I would prefer as much time off as possible. I don't want to spend my non-teaching time attending events (unless I had a business teaching job where some drinks and dinners with clients and potential clients was expected...but maybe that's just a Japan thing?), judging kids' speech contests, or sitting idly onsite. I want to show up, teach really well, complete any necessary documentation, and leave. I really do want to focus sufficient time on my Thais studies, plus I have other hobbies and I like sleeping.

I am fine with making my own lesson plans and materials. I am fine with using the company's lesson plans and materials.

I can't teach even a little bit on my ED visa. So I am just wondering...

Is there a minimum salary or numbers of hours required to obtain a work permit? If so, what are the minimum requirements? How likely do you think I am to negotiate those minimum hours (I don't need a big paycheck because I was going to life off savings, anyway) with a language center?