can a Thai wife get half your inheritance as well?

BananaBandit

I read a TV thread or two that says if you legally marry in Thailand, your wife can probably score half your assets if you (when you inevitably) divorce. 

I thought I read somewhere that this "get half your assets" does NOT apply to inheritance, however. 

Is that true?    

Or is your beloved entitled to half your inheritance as well, even if the inheritance didn't kick in until after you legally married ?

(  by the way, i'm aware there's such a thing as a pre-nup, but i also heard that a Thai pre-nup often ain't worth the paper it's printed on  )

In most countries: If you are married and you pass away your inheritance will be divided between your wife and children. 

If you are divorced she will not get anything. But without a pre-nup she will already have half so she will have nothing to complain about.

I have no specific knowledge about Thai laws. But there must be people here with real life experiences ????

It depends. In most countries, Thailand included, it is either that inheritances are personal properties that don't need to be split or in your last will you can determine that the inheritance is not to be considered joined property. 

31 minutes ago, dotpoom said:

What if he left nothing but bills and debts?

Where I come from having a divorce when in debt is a problem. Without pre-nup you will be both for 100% responsible for paying the debt.

6 minutes ago, Preacher said:

It depends. In most countries, Thailand included, it is either that inheritances are personal properties that don't need to be split or in your last will you can determine that the inheritance is not to be considered joined property.