BANGKOK
intheheartoftheheart

Chronic Gastritis but only in Thailand?

Hi all, got a question for you.

My wife and I have been travelling the world for near-on 3 years. We've been everywhere, and I mean everywhere. Eat local food. No issues. Live in Thailand now.

It is only in Thailand that my wife (Korean) gets chronic gastritis. Cannot eat solid food for days after a bout. Only here. Not Zanzibar or Odisha or Port Moresby or Asuncion or the 100s of other, sketchier, places we've been.

The minute we leave and go to, say, Can Tho and eat street food, she recovers within a few days. There seems to be something in Thailand making her sick.

She's been scoped twice and they just see the standard inflammation of the stomach lining but nothing else serious. We try to avoid over-use of antibiotics, for what it's worth. But have relied on them in emergencies.

Is there something she is eating in Thailand that is different than the rest of the world? Is it the pesticides? The water we use to make coffee? The street fruit? Why here and nowhere else?

We just can't figure it out. She has to go on a diet of white rice only for a month to recover. And it is only in Thailand that this happens.

White rice isn't the healthiest of foods.

• Like 2

Had this for years on and off, don't see the need for anti biotics unless she has HP infection. Is she drinking beer? that does my stomach in as well as chocolate and oats. She should try organic apple cider vinegar, strange that it only affects her here.

• Thanks 1

It's a good point, @wgdanson.

When we convert it into congee/jook, it's literally the only thing she can digest. That or boiled chicken breast.

I guess I am just wondering if there's a well known 'trigger' here that affects people. We've lived on and off in Thailand for years and it is only here that she gets gastritis. 

We're young and healthy otherwise. It's just perplexing.

• Like 1