Why are phone prices on line so much cheaper?

homeseeker

I am currently researching to buy a new Samsung smart phone. I have visited a few outlets and have a couple of models in mind though need to do more research. I am not tech savvy.

I looked at the price of phones on line (eg Lazada) and some of the prices compared to the shops are cheaper by two-thirds and more. This sounds too good to be true.

Is it?

Thanks for any answers!

I guess phones sold in shops have to be more expensive to cover the cost of the shop/staff. They are often shown with the RRP. Many phones can be imported without going through the main dealerships and are therefore much cheaper. For example i have just bought a OnePlus phone via Lazada for 17,700 baht but the RRP from the Official OnePlus store is 25,000. 

31 minutes ago, OneMoreFarang said:

You can also get very good prices at the phone company shops like i.e. DTAC.

Recently I bought a new Samsung phone I think for 1500B. The normal retail price was more than 4000B. All I needed was a monthly contract with DTAC which I had anyhow already.

Finally a sensible man that do not throw in a wad of cash for a phone. ???? 

Galaxy รุ่น A70 Ram 8GB Rom 128GB 
Brand: Samsung

More Mobiles from SamsungFree Shipping

฿4,690.00
฿9,990.00-53%

To answer black Cab o see price on Lazada… but 2 shops quoted me respectively 13,000 and 14,000 bht...

Too good to be true ?

Thx the replies so far!

On 11/22/2019 at 12:01 PM, homeseeker said:

Too good to be true ?

Just look at the ratings, then you will see that it's a fake.

On 11/22/2019 at 12:01 PM, homeseeker said:

but 2 shops quoted me respectively 13,000 and 14,000 bht...

The official Samsung shop is selling it for 11,990