BANGKOK
SidJames

Netflix subscription

I'm thinking of getting a Netflix subscription for my new place & want the children to be able to use it.

I have a decent connection & use express vpn so my question is should I buy an overseas ie UK, subscription or is the local one decent enough?

You've almost answered your own question, Sid.

As you're running ExpressVPN then it really matters little as you can easily change your country location as and when you want to view alternative content.  

local one is good for the thai wife, bad otherwise compared to UK's one

• Haha 1
  • Confused 1

I use the local (Thai) subscription for Netflix, and it's fine. Never found anything yet that is available in UK that is not available here. 

• Thanks 2

It doesn't matter where you buy the subscription, it works based on where you are in the world.  You get the content based on your location (unless using a VPN, many of which Netflix will detect and ignore).

For instance, I have a Thai-based subscription - when I use it in the UK it works just fine but gives me content for the UK (no Thai language content, for example). My neighbour has a subscription bought in Canada, when he uses it here he gets the Thai programming.

• Like 2

I have an Australian netflix account and works perfectly here in Thailand.

• Like 2

19 hours ago, cyril sneer said:

local one is good for the thai wife, bad otherwise compared to UK's one

Complete nonsense. Pretty much everything is on the 'Thai' Netflix.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

18 minutes ago, Khon Kaen Jeff said:

Not so.  Check out this link and many others.

Netflix Country Comparison

12 minutes ago, AAArdvark said:

Not so.  Check out this link and many others.

Netflix Country Comparison