OT? Soldier @ court destroyed my passport

Two soldiers sat by the metal detector of Saraburei Provincial Court. One inspected my rucksack, the other demanded my passport. The second soldier bent the paper elements backwards, then ripped  the laminated portion out, using brute force. His idea was to use some tiny device to check the hologram or read the chip of Thai id cards?

Where do they find such - - -? Oops, as a teacher, I do have a pretty good idea. Everybody will be passing and all...

Q: Is there a point in complaining to the Army? It takes force to tear a German passport apart!

Q2: What was he even dofing with my passport? No, he didn't scan it in its entirety nor note my name or ask me to write my # or anything other soldiers at government institutions usually do.

Q3: Soldiers have immunity - they can willfully destroy private property, causing 5-figure damage and not be accountable and responsible for damage?

Q4: Do you think, the entrance to a court will be covered by CCTV?

Q5: I can forget my B-Visa to Vietnam, Air Asia was very unfriendly - and the Imigration Police's biometric system won't help when it comes to confirming that foreigners are who theyr imperfect passport says they are. Mmm.

Q6: Would you just fly home, or try and get a replacement passport?

Q7: Does the German embassy take credit cards? Can they issue travel documents allowing citizen to fly home? It's not like the passport wasn't physically present!

• Sad 1
  • Haha 2

OP, you need to obtain new passport. 

You will find airlines have become almost paranoid about any damage to pp even minor. 

As for fly home to get new pp why not just apply at your embassy in thailand. Cost more but think you will find it necessary.

• Like 1