BANGKOK
JungleBiker

Tyre pressure and front wheel alignment

Went to a tyre shop (in Ubon). 

To buy new front tyres.

I told the sales lady that I wanted the factory tyre

pressures: 28 psi all wheels. (Vigo 4WD) (Same pressure regardless of load or not). 

Lady said no, they recommend 35 psi for the first week to let the tyres "stretch". 

That sounded like BS to me but I'm not a tyre expert and did not want to argue. 

After the tyres/wheels were fitted and inflated, they put the vehicle on the wheel alignment rig. 

Later, it occurred to me that if after 1 week I deflated the tyres from 35 psi to 28 psi, the wheel alignment

would be then out of alignment..!?

I would welcome comments from people who know more about these things than I do, regarding...

- over inflating new tyres to let them stretch

- the importance (or not) of having the correct pressure when aligning the wheels. 

Thanks.

JB

A new tyre needs stretching? That, to me, is stretching the imagination. Sounds like another of the many Thai motoring myths.

And no, I wouldn't be concerned about the alignment. If it runs in a straight line with your hand off the steering wheel, everything is just dandy.

Edited by Moonlover

7 minutes ago, Moonlover said:

A new tyre needs stretching? That, to me, is stretching the imagination. Sounds like another of the many Thai motoring myths.

And no, I wouldn't be concerned about the alignment. If it runs in a straight line with your hand off the steering wheel, everything is just dandy.

not sure that i agree with the bit about if it runs in a straight line ......., but a small decrease in pressure will not effect it

• Like 1

1 hour ago, steve187 said:
2 hours ago, Moonlover said:

1 hour ago, steve187 said:

not sure that i agree with the bit about if it runs in a straight line ......., but a small decrease in pressure will not effect it