Moving from UK to Thailand with Thai wife and kids - Visa questions

Hello there,

Long time reader of Thai visa throughout the years, but a first time poster :).

Situation is as follows; 

I'm a Dutch national living in the UK with my Thai wife and two kids. We recently came to the conclusion that we weren't happy living here and would like to move back to Thailand (mother of the missus also nearing the end of her life). I'm an IT Freelancer and have several assignments running. One assignment is on a duration of 5 years and give me roughly 2300 pounds per month. Besides this I have other jobs that sometimes give me big lums of cash, but my salary on a monthly basis never drops lower than 2300 net.

My wife and I have been married (in Thailand) for 8 years and she is staying in the UK on a EEA resident permit. 

After reading into it, my understanding is that I would need to apply for a Non-Immigrant O Spouse visa here in the UK, and extend that into a marriage visa in Thailand. Is this correct?

Furthermore, there are a lot of conflicting information in regards to obtaining a Non-Immigrants O Spouse visa here in the UK. Do they need to see three months of bank statements? If so how much money does there need to be in the account? Or do they only need to see Income - money coming into my account monthly? A lot of information seems to be about Non-Immigrants O-A, which is not what I want since I'm not over 50.

Furthermore, since I invoice clients in The Netherlands, Do I need to pay Tax in Thailand (which I'm willing to do)?

I hope someone can point me to the right direction! Thank you in advance :)

• Like 1

What is you status in the UK. To apply for a Thai visa in London you will need proof of residency in the UK. The applications are done online now. See: https://thaievisa.go.th/Home/

The embassy website does not mention the amount of income.

"Financial evidence e.g. bank statements, proof of earnings, proof of sponsorship from a third party