Sponsoring my Thai girlfriend (Australian Tourist Visa)

I'm new to all this so would appreciate any advice I can get. I'm trying to bring my Thai girlfriend out to Australia on a 600 class tourist visa and what I want to know is how much money I need in the bank and what kind of weekly income qualifies me as a reliable support for her in the eyes of the Department of Immigration. 

When I done it for my wife before we married was easy. As long as regular income and permanent residence for a few years be no problem. Yhey might be looking for proof she has reason to return to Thailand, eg house. Job or kids. My wife had 2 tourist visas within 4 months. They issued a year single entry Visa each time. She only stayed 6 weeks each time 

Good luck.

????????????

Michael, are you in Bangkok, if so just go the the Australian Visa Office in Sukhumvit soi 13.

Forget the name of the building, but it is on the right hand side of the Soi.

The first BIG building you come to.

This is where i done mine for my Thai GF, no problems at all.

Hope this helps.

Being a sponsor is different to her just getting a 600 Tourist Visa with you supporting her, check the website.

As the previous poster has said one of the main criteria they will look at is her reason to return to Thailand before the visa expires. You will need extensive documentation of birth certificates etc for any family that does not accompany her.

We have had 3 Tourist visas and I just state that she has $4000+ to spend (of my money) while in Australia. I usually give them a copy of my recent bank statement showing that the funds are there when needed.

If you think this might be a regular thing, ask for a multiple entry visa, make up some sort of itinerary to give them. Get one of you family to give you a letter asking her to visit them.

2 minutes ago, bridge2bridge said:

Michael, are you in Bangkok, if so just go the the Australian Visa Office in Sukhumvit soi 13.

Hope this helps.