Retirement v Marriage "visa"

Hi guys, newbie here looking for advice. Like most, I am really confused regarding the requirements surrounding visa/extensions of stay. Planning on moving back to Bangkok next year with my Thai wife, (married in Thailand with all certificates etc). I will be retiring when we move back, but not sure whether to go down the "Marriage Visa" route, or the ""Retirement Visa" route, (I understand these are colloquial terms).

Wonder if others have faced the same situation, what decision they took and the reasons behind their decision. 

Thanks in advance for any advice provided.  

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, ubonjoe said:

The approval is done by the division headquarters for where you living not Bangkok.

Immigration always tell us Bangkok, that's the only reason I said Bangkok, interesting to know though, thanks.

8 minutes ago, 4MyEgo said:

Immigration always tell us Bangkok, that's the only reason I said Bangkok, interesting to know though, thanks.

I think they say that due to it being easier to explain than that it is done at the division headquarters.

When I did my first extension here they told us it was sent to Korat for approval but now division 4 is now located in Khon Kaen.

• Thanks 2

Another consideration may be if you are on a marriage extension and something happens to your wife, or you get divorced, I believe you can no longer stay on that extension, and may have to leave and start again on a retirement basis, which means you need double the money in the bank, os more per month on income. I am sure someone will correct me if this is incorrect.

I am married but prefer the retirement option for an easier ride at the annual renewals.

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Saltire said:

Another consideration may be if you are on a marriage extension and something happens to your wife